Sunday, February 27, 2011

Pale Saints - Comforts of Madness (1991)

When thinking of the finest dream pop records from the early '90s, The Comforts of Madness tends to get lost in the shuffle. The touchstones -- Jesus and Mary Chain, My Bloody Valentine, Galaxie 500 -- are somewhat apparent, but their debut is certifiably unique. Noise and melody duke it out, but in an arrestingly off-kilter fashion. Comforts is really as much of a "quirk-out" as it is a "bliss-out," experimental in many ways and apparently so from the beginning of "Way the World Is." The noisy rattling eventually gives way to wobbly bass and tunefully violent Wedding Present-like strumming, whipping up a tempestuous haze of frenzied pop. Throughout the record, the trio throws in countless tempo curveballs (with no sense of pomposity) and effectively balances the blasting chuggers with levitational banks of piled-on guitarscapes.


Thursday, February 24, 2011

The Sound - From the Lion's Mouth (1981)

1 Winning - Bailey, Borland, Mayers 4:15
2 Sense of Purpose - Bailey, Borland, Mayers 3:51
3 Contact the Fact - Bailey, Borland, Mayers 4:21
4 Skeletons - Bailey, Biltoo, Borland, Dudley 3:26
5 Judgment - Bailey, Borland, Mayers 5:01
6 Fatal Flaw - Bailey, Borland, Mayers 4:34
7 Possession - Borland, Janes 3:25
8 The Fire - Bailey, Biltoo, Borland, Dudley 2:49
9 Silent Air - Borland 4:10
10 New Dark Age - Borland 5:51

great album

Dan Deacon - Paddling Ghost

Bonnie 'Prince' Billy - See a Darkness

Thursday, February 10, 2011

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart - Selftitled (2009)

it's been a long time since the last post but i'm sure it hasn't affected any of our stats


so here's something that's so 2009:

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart is the self-titled debut album by the New York indie band The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, released on February 3, 2009. The album was recorded at Honeyland Studios in Brooklyn, New York, and was mixed by Archie Moore. The album was released to generally warm critical reception, with Allmusic drawing comparisons to My Bloody Valentine, Ride, The Field Mice, and bands on Sarah Records.Rolling Stone compared the band to the The Jesus and Mary Chain, while The Tune compared the album to "a rock version of Joy Division, and an American version of The Smiths." In December 2009 Radio Scilly's new music show The Sound Of Confusion declared The Pains Of Being Heart to be the best album of the year, as well as the 4th best album of the decade.

1. "Contender" – 2:40
2. "Come Saturday" – 3:17
3. "Young Adult Friction" – 4:07
4. "This Love Is Fucking Right!" – 3:15
5. "The Tenure Itch" – 3:45
6. "Stay Alive" – 4:56
7. "Everything with You" – 2:59
8. "A Teenager in Love" – 3:24
9. "Hey Paul" – 2:03
10. "Gentle Sons" – 4:32